Contrary to some peoples beliefs!
I have NO idea what it feels like to grow feathers. I am thinking that it can be quite painful. Sorta like a new baby cutting teeth.
I even asked the chicks.
Me: "Hey chickies...How are you? Your new feathers look like they hurt? Do they hurt?"
Chicks: "Cheep. Cheep."
Me: Well, if I could help you out I would. Being a new Chicken Mama....I am lame."
Chicks: "Cheep. Cheep."
At least that is what it LOOKS like when new feathers come in.
My poor little girls are shedding their cute, baby down and growing big girl/chicken feathers.
I wonder what a real Chicken Mamas might do to assist her babies at this point.
Does a real Chicken Mama even care? Do they show them the stages of growing up? Is there a Chicken Legend passed down from generation to generation that gives detailed instructions on growing feathers and what to do and not to do?
There are tons of questions like this going through my mind every time I am around the chickens.
Inquiring minds need to know.
Since I don't really have any knowledge, we stick to the basics. Feed, water, pet, chat, cuddle, clean and cuddle them.
And because we might be lacking in Urban Chicken knowledge and because the family feels bad for the girls, we let them out often....
They fly right up to the edge of the brooder box and hang out.
Literally!
I love it. They are so ugly they are cute. Wouldn't you agree??
I mean really...
Can you deny them?
I think not.
![]() | |
| Hello Ladies! |
![]() | |
| Showing us a nice picture of your brand new feathers! |
![]() | |
| I think it looks painful. You don't mention much. But you are so darn cute! |
![]() | |
| What's up Marilyn? |



